Text size
  • Small
  • Medium
  • Large
  • Standard
  • Blue text on blue
  • High contrast (Yellow text on black)
  • Blue text on beige

    Full Synopsis

    Workshop on Mathematically Structured Functional Programming (MSFP 2006)

    Kuressaare, Estonia, 2 July 2006

    This volume contains the proceedings of the inaugural Workshop on Mathematically Structured Functional Programming, MSFP 2006, held at Kuressaare, Estonia, 2 July 2006, as a satellite workshop of the 8th International Conference on Mathematics of Program Construction, MPC 2006, which followed 3-5 July.

    The motivation for this new workshop was to promote the use of structures originating from mathematics or mathematical semantics in functional programming practice, via language/tool support or by direct expression in programs themselves. It is good to give a mathematical analysis of computational phenomena, but the work we have collected here pushes the other way too, delivering functionality from structure.

    MSFP 2006 received 16 submissions. Each submitted paper was refereed by three or more Programme Committee members and additional referees. The PC decided to accept the 9 papers published here for presentation at the workshop.

    In addition, the programme of the workshop featured two invited talks by Andrzej Filinski (Københavns Universitet, Denmark) and John Power (University of Edinburgh, UK).

    MSFP 2006 was an official "small workshop" of the EU FP6 IST coordination action TYPES - Types for Proofs and Programs. We are grateful to the Steering Committee of TYPES for their support.

    We are also thankful to Andrei Voronkov for allowing us to use his EasyChair programme chair assistant and BCS for their help in publishing these proceedings.

    Most of all, we thank our contributors, who have produced writing which is good not only to read but also to run. We are delighted to have received and published these papers, and we look forward eagerly to the next MSFP.

    Conor McBride
    Tarmo Uustalu
    MSFP programme co-chairs

    Nottingham and Tallinn, May 2006

    Programme Co-chairs
    Conor McBride (University of Nottingham, UK)
    Tarmo Uustalu (Institute of Cybernetics, Estonia)

    Programme Committee
    Yves Bertot (INRIA Sophia Antipolis, France)
    Marcelo Fiore (University of Cambridge, UK)
    Masahito Hasegawa (Kyoto University, Japan)
    Graham Hutton (University of Nottingham, UK)
    Paul Levy (University of Birmingham, UK)
    Andres Löh (Universität Bonn, Germany)
    Christoph Lüth (Universität Bremen, Germany)
    Marino Miculan (Università degli Studi di Udine, Italy)
    Randy Pollack (University of Edinburgh, UK)
    Amr Sabry (Indiana University, USA)

    Additional Referees
    Robin Adams, Edwin Brady, Pietro Di Gianantonio, Fabio Gadducci, Neil Ghani, Healfdene Goguen, Jevgeni Kabanov, Ralph Matthes, James McKinna, Varmo Vene

    Host Institution
    Institute of Cybernetics at Tallinn University of Technology

    Conference Papers